Ocean Acidification Expertise Database

Name Title/Organization OA Specialty Geographic focus Email
Lauren Bell
Lauren Bell
Research biologist, Sitka Sound Science Center, Sitka Field support & deployment of new Sitka OA buoy; instrument maintenance; study design for coastal long-term monitoring Sitka Sound lbell@sitkascience.org
Allison BidlackAlison_Bidlack PhD, Alaska Coastal Rainforest Center, Juneau OA and carbon cycle dynamics; linking field data and model output with experimental biological studies to understand responses to OA and global change Southeast Alaska albidlack@alaska.edu

archived scientist interview with Allison

Rob Campbell
Rob-Campbell
Oceanographer, Prince William Sound Science Center, Cordova Oceanographic monitoring in Prince William Sound; OA sample collection for research Prince William Sound rcampbell@pwssc.org
Jessica Crossjessica_sm Research Associate, NOAA Pacific Marine Environmental Lab, Seattle, WA Complex carbonate biogeochemistry, new technology and autonomous gliders along the Alaska coast, using interdisciplinary approaches to look at carbon system variability Bering, Chukchi, and Gulf of Alaska jessica.cross@noaa.gov

archived scientist interview with Jessica

Darcy Dugan

darcy-bio-photo

Alaska OA Network Director, Alaska Ocean Observing System, Anchorage Facilitating interaction between researchers and stakeholders, increasing monitoring efforts, expanding the understanding of OA to new audiences Statewide dugan@aoos.org
Wiley Evans
Wiley_Evans
Research Scientist, Hakai Institute, Campbell River, BC CO2 systems and instrumentation; system integration at land-based facilities; underway and autonomous measurements Gulf of Alaska wiley.evans@hakai.org

archived scientist interview with Wiley

Bob FoyDSCN1203 Kodiak Lab Director, NOAA Alaska Fisheries Science Center, Kodiak Causes and effects of elevated CO2 on marine species robert.foy@noaa.gov
Burke Hales
Burke Hales
Professor, Oregon State Univ., Corvallis, OR Ocean carbon cycle; CO2 analytical chemistry; developed the “Burkolator” bhales@coas.oregonstate.edu

Archived scientist interview with Burke

Claudine Hauri
Research Assistant Professor, International Arctic Research Center, UAF, Fairbanks OA and carbon cycle dynamics; using observations and models to investigate the physical, chemical and biological processes that control variability in the carbon system. chauri@alaska.edu

archived scientist interview with Claudine 

Jeff Hetrick
Jeff Hetrick
Director, Alutiiq Pride Shellfish Hatchery, Seward Operation of burkolator and dosing lab; effects of OA on juvenile shellfish; management of nearshore monitoring program in Southcentral AK Resurrection Bay, Lower Cook Inlet, Prince William Sound jjh@seward.net

archived scientist interview with Jeff

Amanda KelleyAmanda Kelley photo Co-Director Ocean Acidification Research Center, assistant professor SFOS (UAF), Fairbanks  Organism-environment interactions in coastal marine ecosystems, global change biology  alkelley@alaska.edu

archived scientist interview with Amanda

Esther Kennedy
Esther_profile pic
Environmental specialist, Sitka Tribe, Sitka Installation of new moored OA monitoring buoy in Sitka Sound Southeast esther.kennedy@sitkatribe-nsn.gov

archived scientist interview with Esther

Kristy Kroeker
Kristy Kroeker
Assistant Professor, UC Santa Cruz, CA Emergent ecological effects of OA on nearshore communities; syntheses of biological effects Sitka Sound kkroeker@ucsc.edu
Christopher LongDCIM100SPORT Marine biologist/ecologist, NOAA Alaska Fisheries Science Center, Kodiak, AK Effects of ocean acidification on Alaskan marine species, particularly federally-managed crab species, including red, blue, and golden king crabs, snow crabs, and Tanner crabs. chris.long@noaa.gov
Jeremy Mathis
jeremy-mathis
Director of the Arctic Research, NOAA Arctic Program, Silver Spring, MD CO2 fluxes and ocean acidification in coastal regions using data from ships, moorings, gliders and floats Statewide jeremy.mathis@noaa.gov
Natalie Monacci
Natalie Monacci
Deputy Director, Ocean Acidification Research Center, UAF, Fairbanks Intensity, duration, and extent of OA in Alaskan waters; management of Alaska OA Mooring Network; water sample analysis Statewide nmonacci@alaska.edu

archived scientist interview with Natalie

David Murphy
David Murphy
Science Director, Sea-Bird Scientific, Bellevue, WA pH sensor development and characterization dmurphy@seabird.com
Chris Whitehead Environmental Program Manager, Sitka Tribe of Alaska; Director of Southeast Alaska Tribal Ocean Research Collaborating and building partnerships for OA outreach and research initiatives with Tribal governments, state and federal agencies, universities, and non-profit stakeholders.

Southeast chris.whitehead@sitkatribe-nsn.gov

To add contacts to this list, please email Darcy Dugan, dugan@aoos.org.

Comments are closed.